MHCA Area Director's meeting minutes

November 2017 MHCA Area Directors' meeting minutes

chuckkrei Wednesday 06 of December, 2017
TUESDAY November 28, 2017, 6:45 pm
Present: E. Rogers, C. Kreimendahl, G. Poulson, D. Lamb, T. Jarvis, L. Raihala, R. Rotter, S. Rudman, W. Weber, J. Chipault, G. Fischer, S. Fitzsimmons, J. Lager, K. Reuter-Krohn
Also present: Ken Skog
1. Meeting location moved to Midvale Lutheran Church due to scheduling error at Sequoya Library. Rogers called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and started introductions. There were no outstanding prior meeting minutes to review.
2. Treasurer Rotter had no written update due to family obligations. Funds on hand were similar to last report. Checks and bills were exchanged between Rotter and Board members.
3. No legislative reports available.
4. Officer elections were discussed with Kreimendahl and Rotter self-nominating as Secretary and Treasurer, respectively. Motion/second to table election to later in meeting pending other business. Motion carried.
5. WIDE radio station. Ken Skog described local low power WIDE radio programming and organization. It broadcasts from his garage on Orchard Dr. They have 7-member board, some additional volunteers and major costs of $800 for music licensing and $450 utilities annually. As board member, he is soliciting financial support. Motion/second to donate $500. Motion carried.
6. Announcements:
Fitzsimmons inquired on behalf of Neighborhood Watch about refreshments ideas for their upcoming holiday meeting.
Discussion about legislators taking up too much time at the October annual meeting.
Denise announced that she will retire as newsletter editor in mid-2018. Will continue on Board and as Segoe Concert Series coordinator. Some discussion about converting newsletter to primarily online distribution.
Kreimendahl reported that Bill Grover was unable to complete bison statue repairs, but will likely be available next spring to do them.
Apparently the prairie planting area at Odana golf course was burned (purposefully) today.
7. Revisited officer election. Nominations accepted for Jenny Chipault as President, Gary Poulson as Vice President, Chuck Kreimendahl as Secretary and Ron Rotter as Treasurer. Motion/second to close nominations and elect slate of these nominees. Motion carried.
Meeting adjourned by motion at 7:55 p.m.
Respectfully submitted by C. Kreimendahl, Secy.